Seeking referrals for reputable breeders for companion dog

Joelle Alexis

Novitiate
Hello all. I am a new member. I am interested in getting a Doberman puppy to join me on my life's journey. I am only looking for a companion dog but I'm a Psychologist and would eventually like to have my companion to serve as a therapy dog, assisting me at my practice and with certain clients here and there. I only want a black female, American not European. I was on a waiting list for 2+ years with a great breeder but she decided to stop breeding. So, clearly I'm patient and understand that usually great breeders have a waiting list, but ideally would like to not wait another 2 years. I live in PA but will be relocating to a beach house in Florida soon. I have no preference what area the the dog comes from. I will drive wherever for a quality companion who will frankly be living quite a comfortable, happy life. Cost isn't much of a concern. Again, quality, health, good genetics and positive references are more of my concerns. Can anyone refer me to some suitable breeders that would fit my specifications? I thank you kindly, in advance, for any info provided.

Welcome to from Louisiana!!

I can tell you how I found my breeder. I also wanted an black/rust American Doberman.

I was new to the Doberman breed and had no info nor contacts in which to start. I went online and researched every breeder I could find.

I then learned about the issues with back yard breeders so I specifically focused on the reputable breeders on Doberman Pinscher Club of America website.
DPCA | The Doberman | Breeder Referral

2FA338BF-671B-4983-965C-F6AF2AB1E14F.png

I emailed every breeder within an eight hour drive. Nobody emailed me back for 2weeks. So I did more research online and found phone numbers to these breeders. I started making contact with breeders.