Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest!
We are glad you found us, if you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community members, it takes less than a minute!

Rear dew claw

Discussion in 'Doberman Talk and Discussions' started by Samburnell, Jul 20, 2019.

1. Samburnell

Samburnell Novitiate

Hello

I've had Dobes for years, but this is the first time I have owned one as an 8 week old puppy. I let my kids choose - as you do, when he was around 4 weeks old and none of us noticed that he had a rear dew claw, just the one. Picked him up now, and he is wonderful, but this rear extra toe is quite pronounced and very visible, typically we only noticed when we got him home. I've never done any showing before, but now my children are a bit older, I'd hoped to do some. So the question is, should I get this removed? Will he get marked down for it? What's best to do?

Thanks in advance.

Sam

2. Panama

Panama Hot Topics Subscriber

I've never seen nor heard of Dobermans having rear dew claws, but I'm sure someone has. Picking him out at 4 wks, did you see both of the parents?
    With you considering showing, his parents are AKC?

Can you post a picture of him?

If you have any intentions of showing, I would suggest getting it removed.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2019
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Viemarangelrock

Viemarangelrock $ Premium Subscriber $ Hot Topics Subscriber $ Forum Donor $

A rear dew claw...that sounds unusual! Does it have contact with the ground? If not, I would imagine it growing very quickly so we need removing. Is it low down on the leg? I would also be interested in seeing a picture.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. jazzies mum

jazzies mum Notable member