Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest!
We are glad you found us, if you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community members, it takes less than a minute!

Puppy Playtime

Discussion in 'Doberman Puppies' started by Nico, Jul 27, 2020.

1. Nico

Nico Novitiate

Hi everyone, I’m new to the Doberman breed, only had retrievers. I’m exited about our new puppy’s potential to be a smart, loyal, and protective dog. He is currently 8 weeks and has lots of energy. We work on training but I’m looking for suggestions for playtime to help get out his energy. He sometimes plays with the neighbor dogs, but he doesn’t have his shots so going to the park is not an option. What was your puppy’s favorite game at this age?

thank!

2. Viemarangelrock

Viemarangelrock Hot Topics Subscriber $ Forum Donor $

Congratulations on your new pup!
    At that age we just concentrated on some free-play in the garden. Also started to introduce a collar and lease.
    At that age they really don't know when to stop. They can be hyper so the temptation to 'wear them out' with long walks is pretty tempting but not the correct way, IMO. Playing some ball (with breaks) a game of 'find it!' Or a short obedience session will help mentally challenge your pup as well as give them adequate exercise.

These are puppy X-Rays...

0E3710B5-CA57-4FD8-BFE1-A83F99DD7DD7.jpeg 887DE799-78C3-48CA-8F78-C0197C7C8023.jpeg

See how far their bones have to grow! Forced exercise is detrimental to not only the growing long bones of a puppy, but is bad on their unformed joints.

Playtime and training is sufficient for a young pup.