Ear posting help- 8 months

Gunner18

Novitiate
Hi all, I have an 8 month old dobie named Gunner. I’m new to Doberman and posting the ears. We brought him home in July right after his ears were done. I have been posting them religiously since then. It seems the tips do not want to stay standing. Is this common? Is this what they look like around 8 months? I still wrap them but it’s a little frustrating! Haha I have attached a picture for reference.

Attachments

• 123EFC49-44E5-479A-BBF2-D7110B400708.jpeg
    123EFC49-44E5-479A-BBF2-D7110B400708.jpeg
    212.6 KB · Views: 29
  • 451CF2A3-8F89-4384-B6AB-489C5E52FBC3.jpeg
    451CF2A3-8F89-4384-B6AB-489C5E52FBC3.jpeg
    241.5 KB · Views: 28
Aw, handsome boy.

Looks like you've got a long crop there, and perhaps thick ear leather. It's a beautiful crop though, by the way.

Long crops take longer to be finished, generally.

When did he get his adult teeth completely in? You may know this, but teething takes away from the process of the ear cartilage hardening and the ears can flop if you don't keep religiously posting. Sometimes long crops must be posted until the age of about a year or so.

It's possible the "breathe right strips" method could be all you need at this point, or soon.

I would keep posting.

You have to be careful not to let the ears out of post too long to “test” them out. They present to be strong but if the flop over then you are setting yourself back....

Post, change out-air out for about an hour and then post back up.

Some may recommend breath rite strips. Worked for some but did not work for me, I just kept posting with backerrod.

Aw, handsome boy.

Looks like you've got a long crop there, and perhaps thick ear leather. It's a beautiful crop though, by the way.

Long crops take longer to be finished, generally.