Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest!
We are glad you found us, if you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community members, it takes less than a minute!

Digging inside

Discussion in 'Doberman Talk and Discussions' started by not_so_tiny_teddy, May 25, 2019.

1. not_so_tiny_teddy

not_so_tiny_teddy New Member

I have a nine month old puppy who likes to dig at the timber floor boards. Does this happen to other people? I’m not sure why he does it, or how to stop it, short of having him on a leash when he’s inside, but I’d rather not do that all the time. He also licks the floor. Could it be boredom, tiredness, general naughty puppy behaviour?

I had considered using an e collar, but a very well respected trainer here in Sydney didn’t think it was a good idea and suggested using the place command, which we haven’t done a lot of work on as yet.

2. jazzies mum

jazzies mum Hot Topics Subscriber

I've no experience with digging inside, but would have a guess that it is entertaining in some way. I do agree that there are probably better methods of stopping the behaviour than an e collar. The advice of the trainer you are in contact with sounds good to me, and there will be others with more advice here. Just wanted to say g'day to a fellow Aussie!!! :thumbsup2:

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. not_so_tiny_teddy

Thanks! It’s frustrating because he’s spending less time inside than I would like.

4. jazzies mum

jazzies mum Hot Topics Subscriber

One of our members had a simple toy for on the wooden floor........just a jar lid which could be slid and batted all around the place, resulting in a very tired Doberman! If that sounds too active for inside and you haven't tried one, maybe a kong type toy that dispenses food might give him something to occupy him. At 9months he will be in his teenage stage too so will probably be testing his status in life from time to time!

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Antman408