Asking AKC long-haulers:

Ravenbird

$ Forum Donor $
I'm new to all this competition stuff & I've just got to ask, especially those of you who have been competing for years in AKC venues: Has AKC ever considered or discussed letting bitches in heat compete in trials? Why is it a thing? (I mean, I KNOW why it's a thing, but a dog trained to keep his mind on business no matter what should be everyones goal no matter what sport or which sex) Do any of the owners of intact bitches ever complain? Don't they allow them in conformation or has that changed too? Bitesports allow bitches in heat, they just go last. Same with NACSW nose work, wear pants & go last.

I was entered in my first nose work trials (2 days/8 runs) this coming weekend - Asha wasn't due to come into heat until late May or early June. She started yesterday instead. :facepalm:Now I have to take her to the vet to get verification that she's in season to get my entry fees back. With events rare as hens teeth near me, I can see how I can get wiped out of ever getting anything done. OK, I'm done "bitching", sorry for the rant, but really curious if I'm the only one?

LifeofRubie

OH, that's a bummer :(

I know for Barn Hunt, they allow bitches in season to run (but may be club/host site specific?) but you need to notify the club and they will run last and be in their own blind (waiting area prior to running). They also have their own potty area outside the venue:

1. Bitches in season (BIS). The rules on Bitches in Season apply to both intact bitches and those bitches who have received an Ovary Sparing Spay (OSS) and who are in season.