Am I doberman ready?

TopCat

I suppose you all have read similar questions but I wanted to put in my specific info. We are I would say semi experienced with dogs ( our last two were female and then male Bernese Mountain dog). Our Bernese died recently at 10 years hence the research into the desire for a Doberman. I live in Czech Republic so I think the dogs are mostly Euro dobermans. I have no experience with working dogs although I would say the Bernese male is quite an independent thinker and a bit stubborn. But I had no problems with these dogs. We have a huge garden ; I was used to going on long walks with the Bernese, I am 55 now. My wife and I have two teenage sons. And two cats. However I am concerned about the huge drive and energy of the working Doberman; would I be wiser to get 'show' lines, a female ? I have no interest in Schutzhund, is that necessary? Or reconsider the Doberman choice? But I absolutely adore the look of them. Seems to be some good breeders here but before I contact them I want to ask the right questions. What do you guys and galls think?

Ravenbird

$ Forum Donor $
For your lifestyle, I'd suggest not going with working lines, but still be ready for higher energy and need for obedience training. Some kind of regular "work", even if it's brain games or hiding treats to go find is helpful. Their intelligence is over the top, but they are all different in the way they may challenge you. Read through the puppy threads and training threads here to get an idea of some of the problems (and solutions!) that members have had with their young Dobermans! Welcome to the group - keep asking questions to help make your decision the right one.

JanS

DCF Owner
Administrative Staff
Hot Topics Subscriber
Welcome from Minnesota, USA!