Age old question on homeowners insurance (but from an idiot)

Dr.Tinley

Morning (or afternoon depending your TZ), I have a somewhat different insurance question I'm hoping y'all can help with. I'm a wildlife biologist, not an insurance agent so I may be overthinking this.

I train dogs for waterfowl hunting as a side job on our farm. Obviously we're talking retrievers so there has never been a question of insurance other than the insurance we have for the business. Our friends have 3 dogs, 1 is a puppy, and have just found out they're expecting. The puppy is a Doberman who I think is 4 months old. The baby is a surprise bundle of joy, so they asked us if we wanted to take the Doberman. They aren't trying to pawn the dog off, it's just with 3 dogs and a baby they are worried about giving attention to all the people, 4 legged and 2, in their house.

We have Safeco homeowners and they have a restricted breed list. Dobermans are obviously on the list, but not the labs we train that have the body of a pit bull and can pull a bulldozer (example dog pictured that just finished field trials) when they graduate. Anyway, my issue is I'm confused on the restricted breed list and Safeco customer service wasn't really that helpful. Will the company drop a person with a restricted breed, or will they just not cover the dog that is a restricted breed? We put all of our personal dogs through the good citizenship deal with AKC and would do the same with the Doberman.

Attachments

• IMG_1333.jpg
    IMG_1333.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 10